Norwegian Pork Rib “Sylte” / Ribbesylte

A Classic Norwegian Christmas sandwich spread and
buffet accessory found on matprat.no
  141_ribbesylte_post

“Sylte” is a classic Norwegian Christmas sandwich spread that many still make at home. It can be made from pork ribs like in this recipe or from the meat in the pig’s head. The last was a tradition in my childhood home and my sister and I thought the big pig’s head my mother brought home was both fascinating and gross. On the other hand, we had nothing against the finished product. And “sylte” is still one of the things I’m looking forward to when it’s getting close to Christmas.

“Sylte” is  usually eaten on wholemeal bread topped with either strong, sweet, Scandinavian  mustards or pickled beetroots or wrapped in lefse with the same accessories.

000_recipe_eng_flagg Recipe in English  000_recipe_nor_flagg Oppskrift på norsk

Recipe posted at:
Tickle My Tastebuds Tuesday TuesdaysTable copyTreasure Box Tuesday_christmas

11 thoughts on “Norwegian Pork Rib “Sylte” / Ribbesylte

  1. I’m not so fond of pork meat, but this year I bought some awesome reindeer sylte at the farmers market.

    Like

  2. […] Christmas Brawn (English recipe) […]

    Like

  3. […] Norwegian Pork Rib “Sylte” / Ribbesylte […]

    Like

Leave a comment